Irfan, Miller lay down solid foundation for Zalmi to beat Gladiators

ABU DHABI: Mohammad Irfan bagged three wickets to help Peshawar Zalmi restrict Quetta Gladiators to 136-9 and win 19th PSL 6 contest by 61 runs.
Zalmi bowlers were on top as Gladiators once again failed to acclimatize on the opportunities. The PSL 2019 champions were hurt by the ouster of Andre Russell and Faf Du Plessis.

Earlier, it was David Miller who smashed 73 runs to set the tone for Zalmi to post 197-5 in 20 overs. Miller partnered strongly with Kamran Akmal to fire-power Gladiators’ bowlers all around the park. The duo scored 125 runs together to take Zalmi from 10-2 to 135-2 in 14.1 overs.

Sent into bat first, Zalmi lost Haider Ali off Mohammad Nawaz on the very first ball of the inning. Nawaz opened the bowling quite well and bagged Shoaib Malik in the third over to reduce Zalmi to 10-2.

But, Miller and Kamran took responsibility and rescued their team. Miller smashed 73 runs off 46 balls laced with six boundaries and four maximums. Kamran scored his 10th PSL half-century and made 59 with the help of six boundaries and two sixes.

In the end, Rovman Powell finished his job well, remaining not out for quick 43 off 19 balls. His inning was spread over five sixes and a boundary.

Apart from Nawaz, Mohammad Hasnain and Khurram Shahzad bagged a wicket each.
In reply, young openers Saim Ayub and Usman Khan provided a strong 65-runs start to Gladiators in front of Zalmi’s frontline bowlers Irfan and Wahab Riaz. Saim scored 35 off 31 balls with the help of five boundaries whereas Usman made 28 off 23 spread over two boundaries and a six.

Except for Sarfaraz (36*) in the end, no other batter resisted scoring runs in front of the dominant Zalmi attack. The skipper struck three boundaries and a six during his fighting knock at the crease.

Apart from Irfan, Wahab and Umaid Asif bagged two wickets each while Fabian Allen picked up a scalp.

Gladiators won the toss and decided to bowl first
Quetta Gladiators: Faf Du Plessis, Usman Khan, Jake Weatherald, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Azam Khan, Cameron Delport, Mohammad Nawaz, Zahir Khan, Mohammad Hasnain, Khurram Shahzad, Zahid Mehmood
PESHAWAR ZALMI: Kamran Akma, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, David Miller, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, Fabian Allen, Wahab Riaz, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Imran