Jaffna Kings crush Dambulla Giants, advance to the LPL final

HAMBANTOTA: Jaffna Kings’ openers Avishka Fernando and Rahmanullah Gurbaz batted brilliantly and partnered strongly before their bowlers crushed Dambulla Giants’ batting line-up, in the second qualifier of Lanka Premier League (LPL).

Chasing 211, the Giants’ batters, struggled throughout the innings, and none of their batters could go deep, the side, in the end, restricted to 187/9 in allotted 20 overs; losing the match by 23 runs.

Chamika Karunaratne, on the other hand, played exceptional innings down the order; smashing an unbeaten 75 off 47 balls, including 10 boundaries and two sixes. But, his heroic innings came a little late for the Giants, as the batter, in the end, could not pull off the match for his side.

For the Kings, Jayden Seales bagged three wickets for just 24 runs, while Thisara Perera and Maheesh Theekshana each picked two wickets. Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva and Suranga Lakmal, on the other hand, shared one wicket apiece.

Batting first, the Kings, had a dream start to their innings, with both their openers hitting half-centuries; putting a magnificent 122-runs stand. Gurbaz fell short after scoring a quickfire 70 off just 40 balls; smashing five boundaries and four sixes.

Fernando, on the other hand, kept going, and eventually scored the first century of this LPL season. Fernando scored 100 off just 64 balls; hitting 10 boundaries and four sixes.

With small contributions from the middle-order, the Kings, in the end, posted a massive total of 210/4 in 20 overs.

For the Giants, Lahiru Samarakoon picked two wickets for 30, while Karunaratne and Marchant de Lange each struck out a batter.

The Kings will now face Galle Gladiators in the league’s final on December 23, 2021.

READ: Thushara’s five-fer guides Gladiators to the LPL final