Web Analytics

Imran Tahir replaces Tabraiz Shamsi in Karachi Kings for PSL 9

More articles

Karachi Kings have named South Africa’s cricket legend Imran Tahir as the replacement for Tabraiz Shamsi in the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9.

Shamsi, who was part of the Kings’ squad for the first seven matches, departs due to his participation in the domestic CSA’s T20 Challenge.

In his four appearances for the Kings, Tabraiz Shamsi picked up three wickets at an average of 52.33 with the best bowling figures of 2/42.

Imran Tahir, who previously played for Karachi Kings in the 2023 season, joins the squad in Islamabad, bringing his wealth of experience to bolster the team’s spin department.

For the unversed, the Kings are currently fifth in the PSL 9 standings with six points in seven matches.

The 2020 champions on Wednesday, got back on the winning track with a statement seven-wicket victory over Quetta Gladiators.

Chasing a paltry 119-run target, Karachi Kings completed the pursuit with 4.3 overs to spare when Shoaib Malik smashed Usman Tariq for six.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Captain Shan Masood fell early in the chase with 13 runs on the board, however, Seifert and James Vince steadied the ship with a 50-run partnership off 39 balls.

Vince scored an anchoring 27 off 28 with the help of four boundaries before he fell to Akeal Hosein.

Seifert switched gears after the wicket and added 44 runs for the second wicket with Malik but could not finish the game as he fell with his team requiring 12 runs.

He top-scored for Karachi Kings with 49 runs from 31 balls, which featured eight boundaries including two sixes.

Malik scored played an anchoring 27-run knock from 20 balls and saw his team chase down the total in the 16th over.

For Quetta Gladiators, Mohammad Amir, Abrar Ahmed and Akeal Hosein picked one wicket each.

Earlier, Karachi Kings’ captain Shan Masood opted to bowl first after winning the toss, and the decision bore fruits as they booked the Gladiators on a paltry 118.

Hasan Ali led the bowling attack for Karachi Kings with four wickets while Blessing Muzarabani and Zahid Mahmood bagged two wickets each.

Karachi Kings Squad for PSL 9:
Shan Masood (c), Kieron Pollard, Daniel Sams, Mohammad Nawaz, Tim Siefert/Fawad Ali, James Vince, Hasan Ali, Shoaib Malik, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Amir Khan, Anwar Ali, Arafat Minhas, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Akhlaq, Muhammad Irfan Niazi, Sirajuddin, Saad Baig, and Blessing Muzarabani, Zahid Mehmood, Leus De Plooy, Mohammad Rohid.

READ: Phil Simmons ‘hopeful’ for top-four finish with shift in Kings’ momentum

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories