Web Analytics

Malan, Topley aid England’s first win in World Cup 2023 at Bangladesh disposal

More articles

DHARAMSALA: Opening batter Dawid Malan scored a blistering knock of 140 off 107 before Reece Topley’s four-fer propelled England to a thumping 137-run victory over Bangladesh in the ongoing ICC World Cup 2023.

Set to chase a mammoth 365, Bangladesh could score 227 despite Litton Das and Mushfiqur Rahim’s half-centuries.

Bangladesh had a dismal start to their run chase as Reece Topley ran through their top order, dismissing Tanzid Hasan (1), Najmul Hossain Shanto (0) and Shakib Al Hasan (1) with just 26 runs on the board in the sixth over.

Bangladesh then further slipped to 49/4 in the ninth over when Mehidy Hasan Miraz fell for a seven-ball eight.

Following the slump, Das then received subtle support at the other end in the form of Mushfiqur Rahim and the pair put together an anchoring partnership.

Das and Rahim added 72 runs for the fifth wicket before the former fell in the 21st over.

He remained the top-scorer for Bangladesh with a 66-ball 76 which featured seven boundaries and two sixes.

Mushfiqur Rahim followed Das back to the dugout after putting on a cautious 43-run partnership with Towhid Hridoy.

He scored 51 in 64 deliveries with the help of four boundaries.

Bangladesh then suffered another major blow to their pursuit as Liam Livingstone removed their last set-batter Towhid Hridoy in the 40th over when the side still needed 176 runs.

Hridoy scored 39 in 61 deliveries with the help of two boundaries.

Bangladesh’s batting tail, comprised of Mahedi Hasan (14), Taskin Ahmed (14) and Shoriful Islam (12) offered some resistance but Sam Curran picked up the final wicket to wrap up a massive victory for England.

Topley led the bowling attack for England with 4/43, followed by Chris Woakes, who returned with 2/49 while Adil Rashid, Sam Curran, Mark Wood and Livingstone struck out a batter each.

England got off to a flying start after being invited to bat by Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan, courtesy of a 115-run opening stand.

Opening batters Jonny Bairstow and Dawid Malan completed their half-centuries during the partnership before the former was bowled by Shakib Al Hasan.

Bairstow walked back to pavillion having scored 52 of 59 with the help of eight boundaries.

Joe Root then joined Dawid Malan and together they wreaked havoc on Bangladesh bowlers, adding brisk 151 runs from 117 balls for the second wicket.

Mahedi Hasan, who replaced Mahmudullah in this game, broke the stand as he castled Dawid Malan in the 38th over at a total of 266.

Malan’s blistering 140-run knock featured 16 boundaries and five sixes.

Watch ICC World Cup 2023 Live on ARY ZAP

England skipper Jos Buttler (20) and Joe Root were then involved in a brief 14-ball partnership of 30 runs before Shoriful Islam sent them back in consecutive overs.

Joe Root scored an impactful 82 off 68 balls with the help of eight boundaries and one six, however, he was caught behind off Shoriful’s slower ball.

Shoriful Islam bowled Liam Livingstone on the next ball to hand him a golden duck, reducing England to 307-4 in the 42nd over.

England, at one stage, appeared to breach the 400-run mark, however, after losing three quick wickets they failed to recover and ended up scoring 364-9 in their accumulated 50 overs.

Bangladesh bowlers made a good comeback in the death overs, picking up six wickets in the last ten overs.

Mahedi Hasan topped the bowling charts with figures of 4-71, while Shoriful Islam picked three wickets.

READ: Cricket set for Olympics return at Los Angeles 2028

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories