Web Analytics

ICC World Cup 2023 commentary panel unveiled

More articles

The International Cricket Council on Friday, unveiled a star-studded commentary panel for the ICC World Cup 2023, scheduled to commence on October 5.

The World Cup commentary panel comprises renowned voices cricket voices including the World Cup-winning captains Ricky Ponting and Eoin Morgan while Pakistan’s Ramiz Raja and Waqar Younis were also named in the panel.

“ICC.tv’s coverage of the event will include a pre-match show, an innings interval programme and a post-match wrap-up. Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting and former England skipper Eoin Morgan will join the coverage,” ICC stated in a press release.

“They will be supported by other World Cup winners Shane Watson, Lisa Sthalekar, Ramiz Raja, Ravi Shastri, Aaron Finch, Sunil Gavaskar and Matthew Hayden.

“The commentary box will mark the return of Nasser Hussain, Ian Smith and Ian Bishop, who called the memorable 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand.

“More international icons and former captains including Waqar Younis, Shaun Pollock, Anjum Chopra and Michael Atherton will also be calling the action live from the commentary box.

“They will be joined in on the fun by former international stars like Simon Doull, Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Sanjay Manjrekar, Katey Martin, Dinesh Karthik, Dirk Nannes, Samuel Badree, Athar Ali Khan and Russel Arnold.

“The panel will be rounded off some of the leading broadcasters in the world who have had their fair share of iconic calls, including Harsha Bhogle, Kass Naidoo, Mark Nicholas, Natalie Germanos, Mark Howard and Ian Ward.”

A total of 10 teams will participate in the ICC World Cup 2023 – featuring 45 matches – and compete for the prestigious silverware across 10 venues from October 5 to November 19.

Like the previous edition, the ICC World Cup 2023 will also be played in a round-robin format – each team playing nine matches with the rest of the opponents.

The top four teams by the end of the group stage will qualify for the semi-finals, scheduled to be held in Mumbai on November 15 and in Kolkata on November 16.

Whereas, the final of the tournament will take place on November 19 at the grand Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Notably, all three knockout matches of the ICC World Cup 2023 will have a reserve day.

READ: Zaka Ashraf lauds India for warm reception of Pakistan squad

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories