Web Analytics

ICC unveils schedule for U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024

More articles

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday unveiled the schedule of the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024, which will be played in Sri Lanka from 13 January to 4 February.

A total of 16 teams are set to compete for the coveted trophy, featuring the 11 best-placed Full Member teams at the last edition and five teams who earned their World Cup spot through regional qualification pathways – Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland and the USA.

Hosts Sri Lanka will face Zimbabwe in the opening game of the tournament on January 13 at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, while 2022 finalists England will play Scotland at Colombo Cricket Club and New Zealand face off against Nepal at the P. Sara Oval on the same day.

Defending champions India will kick off their campaign against the winners of the U19 World Cup 2020 Bangladesh on January 14 at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

Meanwhile, Pakistan will face Afghanistan at the P. Sara Oval on January 15.


In a revised format that has been introduced for the upcoming edition, teams progressing from the group stages will enter a new Super Six stage, starting 24 January, where two groups of six teams will clash to determine the Semi-Finalists and the subsequent Finalists.

In the group listings, India are joined by Bangladesh, Ireland and USA in Group A. Group B consists of England, South Africa, West Indies and Scotland. Group C features Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Namibia while Group D is made up of Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand and Nepal.

Speaking on the announcement of the schedule, ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley remarked, “The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup has a long-standing history of introducing global audiences to future stars of the sport.

“Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson and Angelo Mathews are some of the names that made their entrance onto the world stage at this event, and we are certain to see this tradition continue as the drama unfolds across the 41 tournament fixtures.

“We are thrilled to see the competition return to Sri Lanka for the first time since 2006, in what promises to be a festival of cricket with no shortage of entertainment, and we are proud to offer fans the chance to witness the action for free once more.”

Tournament Director, Samantha Dodanwela added, “Sri Lanka Cricket is delighted to be welcoming this prestigious event back to Sri Lanka after 18 years.

“Sri Lanka is renowned for its passionate, cricket-loving fans, and we are looking forward to giving them the opportunity to watch some of the most promising young cricketers in the world over 23 days of competition.

The landmark event has been the springboard for some of the most recognisable stars of the global game. Throughout the history of the event, India are the most decorated with five U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup titles, Australia have won the event three times, Pakistan twice, while England, Bangladesh, South Africa and West Indies have each been crowned once.

READ: Hasan Ali named in Pakistan’s squad for ICC World Cup 2023

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories