Web Analytics

ICC confirms venues for Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

More articles

The International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed on Wednesday that Dallas, Florida and New York have been picked as hosts of the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

The 2024 World Cup will be jointly hosted by the USA and West Indies.

Grand Prairie in Dallas, Broward County in Florida and Nassau County in New York will be T20 World Cup 2024 venues as the event is staged in the USA for the first time.

In this connection, an agreement has been reached for the construction of a 34,000-seat modular stadium in Eisenhower Park, a purpose-built sports and events park in Nassau County, New York, on awarding of the required permit next month.

The existing venues in Grand Prairie and Broward County will be increased in size by modular stadium solutions to expand seating, media and premium hospitality areas subject to final agreement.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said: “We’re delighted to announce the three USA venues that will host part of the biggest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup ever staged, with 20 teams competing for the trophy.

“The USA is a strategically important market and these venues give us an excellent opportunity to make a statement in the world’s biggest sport market.”

A number of other venues around the USA, including George Mason University in Washington, the new home of MLC team Washington Freedom, have also been identified as potential venues for pre-event matches.

This July, reports emerged that the ICC has finalised the schedule for the T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to be co-hosted by the United States of America (USA) and West Indies.

According to the report, the next edition of the T20 World Cup will run from June 4 to 30.

Ireland, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea (PNG) qualified for the 20-team T20 World Cup this week through the ICC’s pathway of regional qualifiers.

PNG won the East Asia-Pacific Region Qualifier while Ireland and Scotland secured the top two positions in the Europe Region Qualifier, which concluded earlier this week.

Notably, a total of 12 teams had already booked their spot in the T20 World Cup 2024 before the regional qualifiers including hosts West Indies and the US, and the top eight teams at the 2022 T20 World Cup — Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, Afghanistan and Bangladesh qualified for the next year’s mega event on the basis of superior team ranking.

It is pertinent to mention that the next edition of the T20 World Cup will feature a record 20 teams and will be played using a different format.

READ: Pakistan women’s team kicks off training for Asian Games 2023

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories