Haris Rauf, Rizwan included in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022

DUBAI: Pakistan’s wicket-keeper batter Mohammad Rizwan and fast bowler Haris Rauf have been included in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022, announced on Monday.

The ICC Team of the Year recognises 11 outstanding individuals who have impressed one and all – be it with the bat, the ball or their all-around exploits in a calendar year, said cricket’s governing body in a media release.

England’s World Cup-winning captain Jos Buttler has been named captain of the team, whereas, India’s Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya are also part of the ICC’s T20I team of 2022.

Rizwan, who gathered a staggering 996 in the outgoing year, has been selected as an opener alongside Buttler, who also serves as wicket-keeper of the team.

“Rizwan smashed 10 half-centuries for the year in the shortest format and finished as the joint-highest scorer for Pakistan at the T20 World Cup with 175 runs. Enhancing his reputation as a high-quality anchor at the top, Rizwan holds on to the opening slot alongside Buttler in the ICC T20I Team of the Year for the second year in a row.” read ICC’s media release.

Meanwhile, Haris Rauf, who earned the repute of ‘death overs specialist’ for his match-winning contributions for T20 World Cup runner-ups Pakistan during the previous year, took 31 wickets in 2022 – most by any Pakistani bowler.

“Rauf impressed everybody with his raw pace and often left batters clueless. In the absence of Shaheen Afridi during the latter half of the year, Pakistan relied heavily on Rauf to lead the bowling attack.” said ICC.

“In the Asia Cup, he was the joint second-highest wicket-taker with eight wickets. Later in the T20 World Cup, Rauf scalped two crucial wickets in the final, including that of Jos Buttler, to give Pakistan a chance but England eventually prevailed.”

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year: 

Jos Buttler (C/WK) (England)
Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan)
Virat Kohli (India)
Suryakumar Yadav (India)
Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)
Sikandar Raza (Zimbabawe)
Hardik Pandya (India)
Sam Curran (England)
Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)
Haris Rauf (Pakistan)
Josh Little (Ireland)