Hafeez, Rahmanullah drive Delhi Bulls to victory in Abu Dhabi T10 League’s opener

Northern Warriors vs Delhi Bulls

ABU DHABI: Mohammad Hafeez and Sherfane Rutherford partnered strongly to help Delhi Bulls beat Northern Warriors by six wickets in the opening match of Abu Dhabi T10 League season 5 here at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium on Friday. 

Hafeez and Rutherford smoked 51 runs together as the Warriors chased 108 runs in nine overs. Hafeez smashed 31 runs off 18 balls including four boundaries and a six whereas Rutherford made 29 off 15 balls that saw four boundaries and a six.

Earlier, Rahmanullah Gurbaz struck 30 off 10 with four sixes and a boundary to provide a solid start to the Bulls in the run-chase.

Sent into bat first, Moeen Ali and Rovman Powell stole the show with their 70-run stand as the Warriors scored 107-4 against the Bulls.

After losing a couple of wickets, Warriors innings was supported by their two key batters, Ali and Powell. Ali scored 35 runs off 21 balls including two boundaries and as many sixes whereas Powell struck 38 runs off 19 balls laced with three boundaries and two sixes.

For Bulls, Shiraz Ahmed, Ravi Rampaul, Romario Shepherd and Dwayne Bravo shared a wicket apiece.


Delhi Bulls have won the toss and decided to bowl first against Northern Warriors


Northern Warriors: Kennar Lewis, Moeen Ali, Rovman Powell, Samit Patel, Ross Whiteley, Umair Ali, Chris Jordon, Abhimanyu Mithun, Josh Little, Imran Tahir, Abdul Shakoor

Delhi Bullss: Rilee Rossouw, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Muhammed Hafeez, Sherfane Rutherford, Eoin Morgan, Dwayne Bravo, Dominic Drakes, Romario Shephered, Adil Rashid, Ravi Rampaul, Shiraz Ahmed