Chameera, Kumara return as Sri Lanka unveils squad for T20 World Cup

Source: ICC

COLOMBO: The champions of the recently-concluded Asia Cup 2022 Sri Lanka unveiled their squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022 as Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara made their way back into the contingent.

The two pacers, who missed the recently-held continental event with injuries will be available for Sri Lanka in the upcoming world cup subject to their fitness.

Following the comeback of Chameera and Kumara, two young pacers – Asitha Fernando and Matheesha Pathirana – who were part of the side that won the Asia Cup 2022, have been left out.


Meanwhile, batters Dinesh Chandimal, Ashen Bandara and Nuwanidu Fernando, and left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama, who were all part of the Asia Cup squad, have been included among the reserves for the World Cup, while left-arm pacer Binura Fernando also retained in the reserve players.

SQUAD: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (Subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (Subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan

RESERVES: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando