Bowlers power India to unassailable lead over New Zealand

RAIPUR: Indian bowlers wreaked havoc over the New Zealand batting lineup by dismissing the touring side for a paltry 108 before openers led their side to a series-winning victory over New Zealand in the second ODI on Saturday.

Put into bat first, the New Zealand batting lineup endured a ruthless attack from the Indian bowlers and bundled out for a mere 108 runs in the 35th over despite Glenn Phillips’ fighting 36.

The touring side had a dismal start to their innings as they lost half of their batters for just 15 runs inside 11 overs.

The touring side could not recover from the shaky start and kept losing wickets at regular intervals before eventually, getting out for just 108.

Phillips offered a fightback with his gritty 36 off 52, while Michael Bracewell (22) and Mitchell Santner (27) remained the other notable run-getters for New Zealand.

Mohammed Shami led the bowling charge for India; picking up three wickets for just 18 runs, while Washington Sundar and Hardik Pandya took two each.

Set to chase 109, India sealed a comfortable victory for the loss of just two wickets with 179 balls to spare.

Indian openers Sharma and Shubman Gill laid a solid foundation for the run chase with a 72-run partnership before the skipper perished briefly after amassing his brisk half-century.

Sharma scored 51 off 50 deliveries with the help of seven boundaries and two sixes.

India then lost another wicket in a short span as their in-form batter Virat Kohli fell victim to Santner after managing to score just 11.

His dismissal, however, did not bother India’s pursuit much as Gill and Ishan Kishan eased through the hosts to the victory in the 21st over.

Gill remained unbeaten on 40 off 53, while Kishan scored eight not out.

For New Zealand, only Henry Shipley and Santner could pick up a wicket.

READ: England crush Ireland in U19 Women’s T20 WC Super Six clash