Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games: Schedule for cricket event announced

Birmingham: The schedule of the women’s cricket event for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games has been announced.
Eight teams will take part in the eight-day event. Matches will be played on July 29, 30, 31. The competition will resume on August 2, 3, 4, 6, 7.

Remember, participating teams were confirmed in April. England qualified as the host nation with six qualifiers Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and a country from the West Indies secured qualification as a result of their standings in the ICC T20I Rankings on April 1.
The last participating team will be decided through a Qualifying tournament to be held by 31 January 2022, details of which will be announced in due course.
The Commonwealth Games cricket tournament will take place at the iconic Edgbaston Stadium, with tickets set to go on sale later this year.
It must be noted that it is for the very second time that cricket will be featured in Commonwealth Games. The first occasion being a men’s ODI competition in Kuala Lumpur in 1998, which was won by South Africa.

Read: Pakistan’s qualification for Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games confirmed