Balochistan beats KPK by eight wickets to win their first Pakistan Cup Title

MULTAN: Balochistan’s skipper Yasir Shah starred with four wickets before Abdul Wahid Bangalzai scored an unbeaten half-century to propel the side to beat the defending champions Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) by eight wickets and lift the Pakistan Cup Trophy, here on Friday.

Set to chase 172, Balochistan comfortably steered to victory in the 32nd over with eight wickets in hands, thanks to the unbeaten half-century from Bangalzai.

In the run chase, the side was off to an unwanted start; losing their first wicket for a mere 28 runs as Imran Butt made his way back after scoring 17.

The enterprising left-handed opener Haseebullah then anchored the innings with Bangalzai as the duo added an important 77-runs for the second wicket before the former fell after scoring 45 off 58 balls.

Bangalzai, on the other hand, kept going and went on to smash a wonderful half-century in the final. He top-scored for his side with 80 not-out off 77 deliveries, while the experienced batter Asad Shafiq also chipped in with his unbeaten 21.

For KPK, Khalid Usman managed to pick two wickets.

Batting first, the defending champions KPK could only manage to score 171 as the side bowled in 46 overs. The right-handed batter Kamran Ghulam fought hard with his gritty 70 off 91 balls, while the rest of the batters could not contribute significantly.

For Balochistan, Yasir led the way with four wickets, while Akif Javed and Khurram Shahzad took two wickets each. Asad, on the other hand, managed to make one scalp.

READ: Afghanistan Cricket Board appoints Umar Gul as bowling coach