ASports HD to live telecast Women’s League exhibition matches

Cricket fans in the country will be able to watch the Women’s League exhibition matches in high-definition on Pakistan’s first HD sports channel ASports HD, confirmed Pakistan Cricket Board on Monday. 

PCB also revealed a panel of 11 commentators and two presenters for the three exhibition games taking place at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi on 8, 10 and 11 March.

The women’s matches will start at 2 PM and will be followed by the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 games at 7 PM.

PCB named Sana Mir, Urooj Mumtaz, Marina Iqbal, Waqar Younis, Alan Wilkins, Bazid Khan, Danny Morrison, Daren Ganga, Mark Butcher, Sikandar Bakht and Simon Doull as commentators for the exhibition games, while Zainab Abbas and Erin Holland will be the presenters.

The exhibition matches will be played between Bismah Maroof-led Amazaons and Nida Dar-led Super Women.

A total of 10 leading foreign players from seven countries will represent the two teams during the women’s exhibition games – billed as the soft launch of the Pakistan Women’s League, tentatively planned for September.

Ireland’s Laura Delany, England’s trio of Lauren Winfield-Hill, Maia Bouchier and Tammy Beaumont, and Australia’s Tess Flintoff are part of Amazons.

Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu, Danni Wyatt of England, Jahanara Alam of Bangladesh, South Africa’s Laura Wolvaardt and Lea Tahuhu of New Zealand represents Super Women.

Meanwhile, the High-Definition broadcast coverage will include 30 cameras, which along with buggy cam, will embellish the viewing experience of the fans within and outside Pakistan. HawkEye and UltraEdge will be part of the Decision Review System (DRS) Technology, added the PCB statement.

Viewers in Pakistan can catch the action in high-definition on ASports and PTV Sports on linear TV; while live streaming for viewers across the world will be available on PCB and PSL YouTube channels.

Cricket fans around the world can watch the matches live on Fox Sports (Australia), Willow TV (North America), Flow Sports (Caribbean), Sky Sports (United Kingdom), Sky Sport NZ (New Zealand), Super Sport (sub-Saharan Africa) and, CricLife Etisalat and STARZPLAY (Mena).

In non-broadcast territories, the exhibition matches will be available on the HBL PSL’s official YouTube and Facebook channels.


Amazons: Bismah Maroof (c), Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Areesha Noor, Eyman Fatima, Fatima Khan, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Gull Feroza, Kainat Imtiaz, Laura Delany (Ireland), Lauren Winfield-Hill (England), Maia Bouchier (England), Nashra Sundhu, Sadaf Shamas, Tammy Beaumont (England), Tess Flintoff (Australia) and Umm-e-Hani.

Super Women: Nida Dar (c) Aimen Anwar, Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Danni Wyatt (England), Iram Javed, Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Muneeba Ali, Natalia Parvaiz, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Shawaal Zulfiqar, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz, Syeda Aroob Shah, Syeda Masooma Zahra and Tuba Hassan.

READ: Foreign players reach Pakistan for Women’s League exhibition matches