Web Analytics

Team Abu Dhabi crush Delhi Bulls’ playoff hopes with seven-wicket victory

More articles

ABU DHABI: Kyle Mayers’ blistering knock guided Team Abu Dhabi to their only win in the ongoing season of the Abu Dhabi T10 League as they edged Delhi Bulls by seven wickets at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Team Abu Dhabi were on a six-match losing streak before this victory, however, they scored a thrilling last-over win to break the streak and knock Delhi Bulls out of the Abu Dhabi T10 League.

Delhi Bulls ended at fifth spot with three victories from their seven matches, while Bangla Tigers and Deccan Gladiators qualified for the playoffs with four victories.

Delhi Bulls opted to bat first after winning the toss but failed to get a good start, losing both opening batters with only 26 runs on board.

Quinton de Kock scored 12, while Rilee Rossouw scored 10.

Adam Lyth and Skipper Rovman Powell then took charge, knitting a solid partnership of 71 runs from 40 balls to raise the team’s total to 97-3 in their ten overs.

Powell scored 31 runs from 20 balls with two boundaries and as many sixes before getting out on the last ball of the innings.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Lyth top-scored for the Bulls with an unbeaten 39 off 24, featuring two boundaries and three sixes.

Dan Mousley, Noor Ahmad and Dwaine Pretorius picked one wicket each for Team Abu Dhabi.

In response, Team Abu Dhabi got off to a flying start with a 52-run opening partnership between Kyle Mayers and Tom Banton before the latter got retired-hurt.

Mayers remained firm while two wickets fell on the other end, scoring a blistering half-century to keep his team in chase.

Mayers scored 61 runs from 30 balls with the help of five boundaries and as many sixes before getting out in the final over.

Colin Ingram (8) then scored the winning runs as he hit the last ball for four.

Fazalhaq Farooqi, Wasim Akram and Dwayne Bravo picked one wicket each for Delhi Bulls.

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories