Web Analytics

Sahibzada, Iftikhar help Peshawar thump Larkana in National T20 Cup

More articles

KARACHI: Sahibzada Farhan and Iftikhar Ahmed played blistering knocks, which were followed by a combined bowling effort by Peshawar bowlers to thump Larkana by a huge margin of 126 runs during a National T20 Cup 2023-24 match at National Bank Stadium.

While batting first, Peshawar posted a mammoth total of 248-2, which is the highest total in the history of the National T20 Cup.

Sahibzada Farhan scored an unbeaten 107 off 54 balls, with the help of 15 boundaries and four sixes followed by Iftikhar Ahmed, who scored 31-ball 76, featuring eight boundaries and four sixes.

In response, Larkana could only manage to get 122-7 in the allotted overs, losing by a huge margin of 126 runs, with all of Peshawar bowlers returning with at least a wicket each.

Prior to that, Ahmed Shehzad (81, 44b, 10x4s, 4x6s) and Muhammad Akhlaq (44 not out, 24b, 5x4s, 2x6s) unleashed a fierce batting onslaught to take Lahore Whites to a nine-wicket victory over Quetta.

Lahore Whites chased a modest 133-run target in 12 overs while losing only one wicket.

Earlier, Quetta had scored 132-5 in 20 overs, with Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (79, 63b, 4x4s, 4x6s) scoring a bulk of the total.

Watch National T20 Cup Live on ARY ZAP

In another National t20 Cup match, Lahore Blues defeated Dera Murad Jamali by five wickets at UBL Sports Complex after Rizwan Hussain (45, 39b, 1×4, 3x6s) and Hussain Talat (43, 35b, 4x4s, 1×6) helped chase the target in the last over.

Earlier, DM Jamali had been restricted to 139-9 in 20 overs, with Asfand Mehran getting a three-wicket haul.

Mohammad Suleman’s (62, 56b, 6x4s) half-century went in vain as Hyderabad lost against Islamabad by 10 runs. Sarmad Bhatti’s (56 not out, 36b, 4x4s, 2x6s) unbeaten half-century took Islamabad to 153-5 in the first innings.

In turn, Hyderabad could only make 143-7, with Haris Rauf and Umair Afridi returning with three wickets each.

Zeeshan Malik (57 not out, 22b, 6x4s, 4x6s), Yasir Khan (55, 36b, 5x4s, 3x6s), Rehman Khan (52, 52b, 7x4s) and Haider Ali (36, 13b, 2x4s, 4x6s) took Rawalpindi to a formidable total of 232-3 against Bahawalpur at HPC Oval Ground.

Aun Shehzad (76, 47b, 12x4s) and Mohammad Shahid (43, 35b, 5x4s, 2x6s) brought Bahawalpur close to the target, however, the team could only manage 195-7 in the completed 20 overs, losing by 37 runs.

Abbottabad defeated Faisalabad by six wickets as Kamran Ghulam (62 not out, 43b, 5x4s, 2x6s) helped the team cruise to 144 in 18.3 overs with six wickets to spare.

Earlier, Faisalabad had been dismissed for 143 in 20 overs, with Adil Naz and Shahab Khan getting two wickets each.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Multan narrowly beat FATA at NBP Sports Complex as the latter fell four runs short of the target while chasing 154.

A half-century by Sharoon Siraj (56, 33b, 5x4s, 3x6s) and a 45-ball-44 by Zain Abbas took the team to 153-5 in the first innings, which was subsequently defended by the Multan bowlers in the latter half of the game.

Sialkot cruised to a nine-wicket win after dismissing AJK for just 59 in 18.2 overs on the back of a four-wicket haul by Usman Khalid.

It took Sialkot just six overs to complete the target, courtesy of fiery batting by Amad Butt (27 not out, 13b, 2x4s, 2x6s) and Mirza Tahir Baig (27 not out, 19b, 4x4s, 1×6).

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories