Web Analytics

Inzamam-ul-Haq opens up on Hasan Ali selection in ICC World Cup 2023 squad

More articles

LAHORE: Inzamam-ul-Haq, the national chief selector announced a 15-member Pakistan squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023, the notable selection, however, was the returning pace-bowler Hasan Ali.

Hasan Ali returned to the Pakistan ODI squad after one year, replacing injured fast bowler Naseem Shah, who injured his right shoulder during the Asia Cup 2023 match against India. He last played an ODI match against West Indies in June 2022, where he picked up two wickets.

The head of national selection committee, Inzamam-ul-Haq justified Hasan Ali’s selection on the basis of experience and injuries to other pace bowlers.

“We were forced to make one change [Hasan Ali] because of an unfortunate injury to Naseem Shah,” said Inzamam-ul-Haq. “Our fast bowlers are facing injuries, [Mohammad] Hasnain has an ankle injury and is out injured and so is Ihsanullah, so Hasan Ali has been included in the team on the basis of experience.”

He also explained the reason for Hasan Ali not replace Naseem Shah in Asia Cup 2023 instead of Zaman Khan.

“Hasan Ali was suffering from a finger injury at the time when Naseem Shah got injured in the Asia Cup,” Inzmam-ul-Haq explained.

Hasan Ali underwent surgery after he injured his finger while playing for Dambulla Aura in the Lanka Premier League (LPL) playoff game against Galle Titans last month. He picked up eight wickets at an astonishing average of 16.12 in the five games in the tournament.

Hasan Ali has represented Pakistan in 60 ODI games and picked 91 wickets, since his debut in 2016. He was also part of Pakistan’s squad in the ICC ODI World Cup 2019, as well as Pakistan’s successful Champions Trophy triumph under the leadership of Sarfaraz Ahmed in 2017.

The 15-member Pakistan team will kick off their World Cup campaign against the Netherlands on October 6 at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad. Prior to that, they will play two warm-up matches against New Zealand and Australia on September 29 and October 3 respectively.

READ: Mohammad Hafeez steps down from PCB Cricket Technical Committee

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories