Web Analytics

New York Strikers bundle Delhi Bulls for the lowest Abu Dhabi T10 League total to win by 67 runs

More articles

ABU DHABI: New York Strikers’ Akeal Hosein and Chamika Karunaratne wreaked havoc on Delhi Bulls’ batting line to hand them a heavy 67-run defeat in a one-sided Abu Dhabi T10 League match at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium.

New York Strikers bowled Delhi Bulls for a meagre 31, which is the lowest total in the history of the Abu Dhabi T10 League.

Earlier, Delhi Bulls invited New York Strikers to bat first and reduced them to 17-3 inside three overs, including two wickets in the same over by UAE bowler Wasim Akram.

However, the Strikers’ opening batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz stayed firm on his end and kept the scoreboard moving.

Strikers’ skipper Kieron Pollard was then bowled by Dwayne Bravo in the sixth over, bringing Odean Smith to the crease.

Gurbaz and Smith then attacked the Bulls’ bowling line and added an unbeaten 63 from 27 balls to raise the team’s total to 98-4 in their accumulated ten overs.

Gurbaz scored 49 off 24, featuring five sixes and two boundaries, meanwhile, Smith scored 25 runs from 15 balls with one boundary and two sixes.

Wasim Akram topped the wickets chart for the Bulls with bowling figures of 2-15.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

While defending their 98-run total, Strikers’ Akeal Hosein gave his side a brilliant start as he sent Johnson Charles and James Vince on back-to-back balls in the first over.

Hosein then bowled Usman Khan in his next over to further slip Delhi Bulls to 11-4 in the third over.

Chamika Karunaratne then bowled a tremendous over to destroy Delhi Bulls’ pursuit by taking three wickets for one run reducing them to 15-7.

Quinton de Kock got caught and bowled before Rovman Powell as well as Dwayne Bravo fell prey to Karunaratne in the same over.

Strikers’ bowlers then quickly wrapped the Bulls’ innings at 31 before Ravi Bopara showed some resistance with run-a-ball 16.

Bopara was the only batter to reach double figures for Delhi Bulls.

Akeal Hosein and Chamika Karunaratne returned with brilliant bowling figures of 3-7 and 3-6 respectively.

READ: Haris Rauf, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan granted NOCs for BBL 2023-24

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories