ICC announces cricket’s complete line-up for Commonwealth Games

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) in association with the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) has announced the complete line-up of cricket for the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games.

In a press release shared on the official website, the ICC announced the complete line-up for the upcoming multi-sport event, as a result, cricket has become the first sport to confirm its complete line-up.

With Sri Lanka’s triumph in the Women’s T20 Commonwealth Games Qualifier 2022 in Kuala Lumpur last week, the line-up of eight teams has been completed which includes Australia, Barbados, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa.

The Games will feature a league-cum-knockout format, with Australia and India, the finalists of the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, set to face off in the opening match on July 29. The medal matches are set to take place on August 7.

In the league stage, the tournament will be split into two groups. Group A includes Australia, Barbados, India, and Pakistan. In Group B, England, New Zealand, South Africa, and Sri Lanka will compete for supremacy.

It is worth mentioning here that cricket is going to be a part of the Commonwealth Games for the second time. The last occasion was in Kuala Lumpur in 1998, when the men’s teams competed for gold, with South Africa defeating Australia by four wickets in the final.

READ: Pakistan beat Bangladesh in the 5th Place Play-Off Semi-final of ICC U19 World Cup