Hamza, Mazhar bag golds for Pakistan at Taekwondo C’ship in Nepal

POKHARA: Pakistani athletes Hamza Umar Saeed and Mazhar Abbas clinched gold medals after dominating Indian opponents at the 3rd Mount Everest International Open Taekwondo Championship held in Pokhara, Nepal.

Pakistan’s gold tally in the event reached six after these remarkable wins.

Meanwhile, Haroon Khan and Arbaaz Khan secured the silver medals in the championship.

In the final of the 87-plus category Kyorugi event, Hamza Saeed outclassed the Indian opponent Gaurav Bhatt by 11-2 in the first round and 11-4 in the second round.

Mazhar, on other hand, triumphed in the 80-category final as he beat India’s Rishab after a thrilling competition. Mazhar outpowered the opponent in the first round by  9-7, who then came back strongly and claimed the second round 8-3.

However, in the third round, Mazhar upped the ante and unleashed a vigorous attack to knock down the Indian opponent with 9-0.

Moreover, in the 58kg final, Korea’s Tae Joon Park defeated Pakistan’s Haroon Khan by 9-1 and 11-3.

India’s Shivam Sudesh Shetty edged past Pakistan’s Arbaaz Khan 6-5, 7-2 in the 63kg final.

In the women’s 57-kg semifinal, India’s Sonam Rawal beat Pakistani counterpart Noor Rehman 3-0 and 4-0. Noor, however, managed the bronze medal.

It is worth mentioning here that Pakistani athletes bagged three golds, two silver and two bronze medals in the Kyorugi event of the Championship.

Whereas, in the Poomsae event the national athletes won three golds, a silver and four bronze medals.

Overall, Pakistan won six gold, three silver and six bronze medals in the championship.

Pakistan’s Poomsae coach Master Seong Oh Choi of Korea and Kyorugi coach Yousuf Karami of Iran praised the national athletes for their outstanding performances in the Mt. Everest International Open Taekwondo Championship.

They hoped that these remarkable accomplishments would prove beneficial for the athletes as they prepare for the Combaxx Asian Championship scheduled in Islamabad in November later this year.

READ: Pakistan set unique record in T20I cricket by winning landmark matches