Web Analytics

New Zealand name five spin bowlers for Bangladesh Tests

More articles

New Zealand on Tuesday selected five spin bowlers to tackle the turning wickets expected in Bangladesh for the two-match Test cricket series later this month following the ongoing ICC World Cup 2023.

Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner returns to the Black Caps’ Test squad for the first time since 2021 to join Ajaz Patel and Ish Sodhi as the main spin bowlers.

New Zealand’s options with the turning ball are boosted by all-rounders Rachin Ravindra, who has hit three centuries at the ODI World Cup, and Glenn Phillips.

Seamer Kyle Jamieson returns after back surgery to form a three-man pace attack with captain Tim Southee and Matt Henry, who is recovering from a hamstring injury.

“We’ve selected a squad we think can compete and succeed in Bangladesh,” said New Zealand selector Sam Wells.

“With Ajaz, Ish, Mitch, Glenn and Rachin, we have a strong spin group that will offer good variety and options during the series.”

“Mitch had a strong back half of the Plunket Shield campaign last summer and has made good strides in his red-ball bowling,” Wells continued.

“Rachin brings a left-arm orthodox option and has improved considerably over the past 18 months with the ball – and his performances with the bat at the World Cup speak for themselves.”

Pace bowler Trent Boult has been left out after making himself unavailable for the tour of Bangladesh.

The first Test starts in Sylhet on November 28 with the second beginning eight days later in Dhaka.

New Zealand Squad for Bangladesh Series

Tim Southee (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Kane Williamson, Will Young

READ: Pakistan players to partake in one league apart from PSL, hints Zaka Ashraf

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories