Mir Hamza among three players added to Pakistan squad for New Zealand Tests

LAHORE: The Men’s interim selection committee led by former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi has added Mir Hamza, Sajid Khan and Shahnawaz Dahani to the Pakistan Test squad for the two-match series against New Zealand, scheduled to commence on Monday.

According to the PCB, the decision came into effect after the interim selection committee led by Afridi held a meeting here who, along with Pakistan captain Babar Azam, joined the session through a video link.

In a PCB released statement, Afridi shared that all the members of the interim selection committee mutually agreed upon the need of strengthening the bowling attack of the national team, thus, came up to the conclusion of adding three bowlers to the already announced squad.

“We had a good discussion on the squad and agreed we needed to strengthen our bowling department to give ourselves the best chance of taking 20 wickets in a match. As such, and taking into consideration recent form and performances, we have added fast bowlers Mir Hamza and Shahnawaz Dahani, and off-spinner Sajid Khan,” said PCB in a statement.

“I am confident the inclusion of three additional bowling resources will give Babar Azam more options to field the best available squad for the first Test,” the statement added.

Hamza had a decent four-match stint in the recently-concluded Quaid-e-Azam Trophy; taking 16 wickets, while Sajid bagged 21 wickets in seven matches. Meanwhile, Dahani could only make two appearances in the premium first-class tournament due to national duty.

Hamza played his first and only Test against Australia in 2018 while Sajid’s seventh and last Test was against Australia earlier this year in Lahore. Whereas, is yet to make his debut in Tests.

Pakistan Test Squad

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Sajid Khan, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood and Zahid Mehmood

READ: PAK v NZ: PCB puts tickets on sale for first Test in Karachi